Last night saw the first meeting of the 2020/21 season and the last of the 2019/20 season with the AGM. We had around 25 members in attendance some physical and some virtual.

The outgoing members of the 2019/20 Committer gave their reports

CHAIRMAN Statement 2020

Competition Secretary s report 2020

Secretarys Report 2020

Programme Secretary report 2020

ESCC Accounts 2019-2020 AUDITED Page 1_2

ESCC Accounts 2019-2020 AUDITED Page 2_2

Minutes for AGM 9th September 2020

This was followed by the presentation of the 2019/20 competition trophy’s which this year owing to restrictions was by the Club Chairman.
Secretaries Challenge: Winner  ‘Ivory Flame’ by Phil Mallin
Trevor Wain UK Landscape: Winner ‘Saltwick Wreck’ – Julie Holbeche-Maund
Chairman’s Trophy award to whom statistically and after deliberation by the competition committee to who they thought was the most improve photographer this season – Steve Pears
Neville Jackson Trophy for Image of the Year: ‘Herringfleet’ – James Botterill
Wendy Jarvis Memorial Trophy for Photographer of the Year – Phil Mallin
The committee then stepped down and John Smith and Julie Holbeche-Maund both indicated that they intended not to stay on the committee for the new season although both will be remaining as active and vocal members of the club.
Paul Steans was then elected as Chairman, Steve Bexon as Vice Chairman, James Botterill as Club Secretary and Peter Lawrance as a member without portfolio. Ian Waite retained the Programme Secretary role, John Langham Treasurer, Gary Wood Competition Secretary and Daniel Wood as a member without portfolio.
After about this point I must apologise as the Zoom coverage became a bit sporadic due to internet issues and this does put a question on whether its worth meeting at the Conny Club for the next 2 weeks. With the continued Covid 19 restrictions the programme as published in the handbook is subject to change and as a result the next two meetings have been rescheduled as Zoom talks invitations to them will be sent out in due course.


16th Sept is A zoom presentation by Glyn Edmunds who is a wildlife photographer and will talk about his work with an animal conservancy project. See his Website


23rd Sept  A zoom presentation by Lee Sutton BPE5* DPAGB EPSA EFIAP LRPS ADPS GPU Cr3 GPU Zeus  who will talk about his photographic journey after only starting eight years ago! To see examples of Lee’s work visit his web page

30th Sept will be a Review of the Secretary’s Challenge which this year has a theme of Travel as a memorial to past member Mike Dawe who passed away last year. Hopefully it will include comments and scores from Bob Moore Hon.FRPS, Hon.PAGB, MPAGB, FIPF, FBIPP from Arden PS who will judged the images at home offline


In regard to competitions all those scheduled for this year Secretary’s Challenge and POTY 1, 2 & 3 will now be electronic submission only. It’s hoped the remaining 4 rounds can be held as print round but this will be under continuous review dependent on government guidelines so keep an eye on the web site for other programme / event updated.
In regard to The  Secretary’s Challenge please send me by the 16th Sept your electronic copies as Jpegs, resized nominaly 1920 x 1080 sRGB colour space with the naming format <image name>-<author name>.jpg  (Please no – in image name) as per club rules see also you need to ensure you nave renewed you club membership as all competitions are only open to members.

Gary Wood

Competition Secretary